Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Find Yourself, Be Great

Leave a comment

Today I realized something. It was a pretty great epiphany, and at first it’s going to sound a little strange, so stay with me for a minute.  People are reverse engineered.  We are backwards from everything we create.  Most things, like a car for example, have an input, serve a purpose and have an exhaust.  For a car, you give it gas, it gets you somewhere, and it puts out fumes as its exhaust. People don’t have a standard input, they work or take care of families (serve a purpose) and, if they have time, they will spend time with friends or have a hobby (believe me, it’s much needed exhaust). Our exhaust is our “venting” to people, or creating something we love. We NEED it. If we don’t have an exhaust, our input gets out of whack. We drink more, smoke more, eat more, sleep more, watch more tv, we are stressed!  If you don’t do something you love, it all feels pointless. You feel empty, lost, wondering what you should do. From the moment I wake up in the morning my family comes first. Make breakfast for my husband (aww, how sweet) take care of the dog, get the kids to school. After work, it’s my family again; pick up the kids, discuss their day CAREFULLY (help them with their problems without making them as sarcastic as I am – not sure it’s working) make dinner and clean something (ugh). It’s my purpose as a wife to serve my family, but that doesn’t mean that’s everything. I need to make something. I love to draw, I love to paint, I love to write. Sometimes I sew or cook something extravagant. Life is too short not to have some form of exhaust, you HAVE to do something. If you do nothing but care for everyone else all day, every day, you will lose yourself. Meet with friends or create something you love, just for you. It won’t matter if no one else likes it, you will love it and it will give you a sense of accomplishment and pride. I promise! It’s not going to be easy to find time, but I can’t tell you how important it is to who you are as a HUMAN BEING.

But I will tell you one thing, the answer is not shopping. Seriously.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

