Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Moron Monday. Oh wait, it’s Tuesday…

4 Comments

You know what stepmoms? I had a seriously gross day. The kind of day where you are throwing a tantrum like a 3 year old, but only in your head, all day. The day where as soon as your foot touches the floor in the morning, your first and lasting thought is “I don’t want to.” There doesn’t even have to be an ending to that sentence, just “I don’t want to.” It’s a mommy type disorder, it’s called “had enough”. It happens as a result to an overdose of chauffeuring and dirty dishes. Oh the dirty dishes, they never end, do they? Even if you don’t cook they just show up like they walked themselves over to the sink somehow.
My symptoms of “had enough” were constant yawning, crappy attitude, general disinterest and an increase in “what?” This particular case of “had enough” was severe, and I believed it was Monday until lunchtime.
A few of the things that helped my “had enough” were the middle child irritating the youngest child in the car (I actually find it hilarious just to have the youngest NOT be the one doing the irritating for once), the oldest child stating that I didn’t need to cook dinner, it could just be like “mom’s house”(that woman has a full time job, the three girls and a 3 year old boy, not sure I’d cook a lot either) and my idiot dog. He’s just happy to be alive.
If you have “had enough”, take action immediately. Schedule a day off work, take a nap, read a book, or simply lock yourself in a quiet room or your car for 15-30 minutes. Moms and stepmoms have to take drastic action to take care of themselves first, just like the oxygen in the airplane. You’re no good to anyone else if you’re not fully functional first.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

4 thoughts on “Moron Monday. Oh wait, it’s Tuesday…

  1. I find your blog exceptionally insightful and down right hilarious!I love your point of view and the witty twists. I always knew you were a great writer. Glad to finally have the chance to read some of your work! Love ya sis!

    Like

  2. I can definitely identify with you yesterday! I got up an hour earlier this morning to go clean the kitchen and tackle that dining room table, only to find it all done. Clean. Spotless. Even SPARKLING. Apparently there is a little fairy that sits on B’s shoulder sayin “oooooh you in trouble” and he cleaned. 🙂

    Like

  3. Aww, thanks!! Love you too!

    Like

  4. Luckily I cleaned a bit as soon as I got home. Hubby promised to clean up after dinner, but there was still mac n cheese in the pan this morning. At least I wasn’t remotely suprised. But it is always a wonderful suprise to walk into a clean kitchen when someone else does it. It’s like magic! What a good way to start the day!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

