Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Super Special Sunday-itis!

3 Comments

We have this awesome thing in my house that I like to call Sunday-itis. It is an unusual condition that rears its head every Sunday. I’m not sure exactly what causes this condition, but it is a condition of the children in my house, and its symptoms are; constant fighting, an inability to talk without whining, being unable to stand the presence of your siblings for more than a few seconds at a time and a deep need to annoy the living daylights of everyone around you.

The fighting has been constant, which is normal for a Sunday. I’ve come to expect that Sundays will be completely and thoroughly irritating. I have never found a cure for this condition. I have tried to keep them separated for parts of the day in the hopes that the time apart will help, but it doesn’t. Since there are 3 of them, sometimes removing one helps. But today, that didn’t help. Middle and youngest were having some kind of contest to see who could be more irritating. There was even a 15 minute screaming match over laundry. Yes, laundry. Washing clothes, people.

I was ill prepared for an epic case of Sunday-itis. Yesterday took the Friday off right out of me. I am seriously looking forward to going to work. Seriously. I suppose that’s the silver lining to this Sunday, I am GLAD to go back to work.

I hope all you stepmoms out there find your sanctuary, even if it is at your desks. Sometimes the week is the best part of the weekend. Find something to look forward to, or make something to look forward to. Life with kids is too crazy not to have a happy goal.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

3 thoughts on “Super Special Sunday-itis!

  1. Well said!!! How bout some help for the stepmom who is dealing with the ADULT child who moved in for a ” few months to get back on my feet” almost 2 years ago!?? Any advice??

    Like

  2. Oh dear Lord! A few; change locks, have a drum circle in your living room at dawn on the weekends, keep food elsewhere and let the power go out for undisclosed period of time (with you here we couldn’t foot the bill anymore…) sing country music very loud off key early every morning. Even if they don’t work they should at least be funny! Good luck to you!

    Like

  3. Lol!!! I love EACH one of those!!! I’m gonna go try them now.. 🙂

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

