Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Art, the Cure for “Summer Brain”

Leave a comment

I’m beginning to concoct a plan for the summer. A creative itinerary. I would like to very strongly suggest all parents do something similar. Now I’m not going to enforce anything extreme or strenuous, just something to keep them busy and engaged all summer.

So, first of all, the kids have just transformed without cable. Now that’s not to say they won’t tranform back, but they are new people, and I love it. I want to keep it that way. People, I would never have believed it if I didn’t see it for myself, but cartoons and kids shows all day long will stifle a child’s personality and creativity, but their entitlement will go through the roof. It’s amazing. Take away those kids networks, and they read and are happier. Since they are so much better without it, I don’t want it back. Like ever.

I’m sure that eventually they will get bored, so here’s what I’m going to do; they will have a creative assignment every day. They don’t have to complete it that day, but they have to create something and present it a dinner. They can draw, paint, write, read, do crafts, whatever, they just have to create something. Then, they have to talk about it to us. Just tell us why they did it and what they like about it.

This does a few things, first, it keep their creative minds working all summer so they are more flexible when they get back to school. Also, it gets them more confident in their abilities. They get used to talking about themselves, what they like, sharing thier creations. They will get over being embarassed of thier ideas and thoughts. They will feel more confident to call them their own. They can decorate their rooms, they are already allowed to paint on their walls. They can create their own space, and proudly show us. That is the ultimate goal here, to feel comfortable telling us important things, using us as their base structure for confidence, then being comfortable in their own skin with who they are.

It won’t always be easy, but like I said, they don’t have to complete something every day, they just need to work on something every day. The world is a stifling, institutionalized place. So many people are repressed and compressed into depressions and anxieties, I want them to have an outlet. They deserve it, and they deserve to be proud of who they are.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

