Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Endless Summer

7 Comments

From a trip a few years back

I am just so super excited for so many reasons, I think I may just blow up. There’s been a buzz of activity for a few reasons, the biggest one is we are going on the first camping trip of the year.

I grew up camping, and I loved it. Being outside, we didn’t need to do much. Ride our bikes around the campground, read books, sit for hours by the fire pondering the cosmos (seriously, I was a wierd kid). It was wonderful. Yeah there were a few weekends being trapped in your tent while it rained all day long, but it didn’t kill us and it showed us how to deal with that kind of stuff.  I wanted to introduce the kids to those kinds of things, so we all started going camping, and they really took to it.

There were a few bumps in the road. People got hurt, there was rain and everything got wet, I heard “I’m bored” a few times. But they really loved it and they told everyone about it. They’ve been asking since May “when are we going camping?”

This trip will be different. We are also introducing them to fishing. Being that they have matured a lot since we cut the cable (they read more, play better and have lots more patience) we felt they were ready.  We took them on Tuesday to go buy fishing poles and they were just besides themselves. It was great. They walked around grasping thier poles like they were stuffed animals, holding them tightly and displaying them proudly.  I also fished a lot as a kid, so this will be something else I get to share with them.

In preparation for the trip, they have made another expedition to the library for reading material, in case there’s a lull in activity (like if fishing isn’t exciting). This is the most they have read, just about EVER. Even during the school year they don’t read this much. I am so impressed. They really look forward to it, too! It’s so nice to have them excited about such simple things.

Finally, on an unrelated note, the middle child had learned to crochet a while back. I had seen a news story about a girl who crocheted hats for babies in the hospital, and thought that would be something good for the middle child to be involved with. The oldest child makes jams and pies in jars and sells them to support an orphanage in Uganda that she visited last year (I’m not kidding, this seriously goes on and she raises a lot of money) and the middle child wanted to get involved in a cause of her own. I asked her if crocheting for babies would be something she wanted to do, and she almost didn’t let me finish before she blurted out “Yes!”

I finally got a response from a hospital and we are going to get all signed up. We will start next month. She was so excited she said “when can we go get the stuff so I can get started? Can we go next week?” I had to tell her we needed to wait and see what the hospital wanted us to do.

I was worried at first about how this summer would turn out, but it seems like it’s taking a turn for the better the further we go. People are saying they notice a change in the kids, and I do too. The attitude and feel of the house is different.

It’s like it’s really summer, no messes, no complications, no fights. Just warm, fun, happy summer, with all the possibilities laid out before us, just like a lush lawn.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

7 thoughts on “Endless Summer

  1. Very cool! I know of a few kids having surgery this year if she’d like to make somethng for them also. We try to send packages to kids in the hospital.

    Like

  2. She might be interested in that. We will have to see how the hats go, but if she really gets into it then I bet she’d like to do more. Thanks!

    Like

  3. This makes me feel all warm and fuzzy!!! How sweet and thoughtful and wonderful and totally beautiful this is!! You are such a wonderful warm stepmom!! I LOVE this!

    Like

  4. Aww, thanks. We’ve had them for like 3 weeks straight now, and due to that and some other circumstances, I think I found my “mom” mode. It’s been weird. But it’s been really nice to be able to have a positive impact. I’m glad you can enjoy it!

    Like

  5. Absolutely! Thanks for sharing these beautiful things from your world with us!! They are lucky children to have you!!

    Like

  6. I love the I’m boreds in the car. It is so different when my stepson isn’t in the car to complain how boring the trip is. Great read.

    Like

  7. I don’t usually have to hear it in the car too much now that they are older, so maybe that’s just a phase. Thank you for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

