Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

A Little Break in the Waves

Leave a comment

Just a little fishing

Just a little fishing

I’m kind of having a tough time right now. There is just a wave of activity swiftly moving towards me and I’m beginning to panic.

Let’s start with something nice. We had a long camping trip this weekend. It had some adventurous interludes; there was a rude family of boys who felt it was okay to swear at their mother and they wanted to pick on the girls. So that was fun. We forgot a lot of things because there was literally NO planning put into this trip. That was on me, normally I do that and I didn’t want to think about it. There was enough going on already. I spent a lot of time doing what I consider working; cooking, keeping the dog under control, settling arguments, then loading the kids up and whisking them away in the car when a freakish storm rolled in. We went fishing, and I didn’t really get to fish. I didn’t really get to relax. Each night, by the time the kids went to bed, I was just shredded. Our last trip was so light and fun and relaxing. This one was more work, and now I am sore. But the kids had a really good time, they ate some awesome food (smoked turkey and a ham on the fire, and chocolate chip pancakes for breakfast) they caught lots of fish, and I took lots of pictures. They loved it. So I guess this was one for the kids.

So after our family trip (and any mom will tell you a family trip is for the kids, not for her necessarily) we come home to a pretty ridiculous house. I’m upset about it. And I’m not upset an anyone else, I’m upset with myself. How did it get like this? How do I get this under control?

I’m at a point where I feel like things are just getting away from me. School is right around the corner and I’m not ready. We have house projects that are collecting dust, and have been for months. The house is a disaster. Now, what I consider a disaster is not the same level as what I’m sure most people consider a disaster, but it needs a really good cleaning, and I don’t know when I can do that.

Our evening schedule has a “time turd” plopped right in the middle of it, and that is the middle child is in cheerleading from 5:30 to 7:00 every weeknight till school starts. We would normally eat dinner around 5:30, but this has thrown things off. I’m still not sure how to deal with it, we’ve just been eating at 7 which is crazy late for me. So my husband rushes home, picks up the middle child and then rushes off to the Y from 5:30 to 7. Gah. The other option is the one I’ve been dreading for months, and that is the round up the kids and take them all to the gym.

Sure, taking the kids to the gym sounds great, but now that’s effort spent getting them there, to what they want to do, settling their arguments, doing my workout, then rounding them up and finding the lock (every single time). Then after that I still have home projects and cleaning and cooking to do. Sounds super suckish. I’m not down.

This week, I’ve got a packed schedule, then my husband is going on a business trip. I will be handling the kids and the time turd on my own. I guess we are all going to the gym. Here comes the wave! WOO!

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.