Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

About Food…

Leave a comment

Camping Food. Processed, canned and chemically treated. MMMM.

I’m about to go on a rant here so be prepared. It is a rant about the FDA and health issues. Feel free not to read if you feel you’ve heard enough of this type of stuff.

I’m going to start by saying I’ve been sick for over 10 years. My blood tests will tell you I’m hypoglycemic, I have excess inflammation (near heart attack levels on a bad day) and a low immune system.  I’m considered obese. I’m usually exhausted, have headaches several days a week, and I have fibromyalgia.

When I was a little girl, I was sick a lot and they threw pills at me like candy. I was on antibiotics almost monthly. They would even say things like “well, normally antibiotics wouldn’t help here, but she’s not getting better on her own, so let’s put her on something”. I would always have tonsillitis. They wouldn’t take out my tonsils, but they would continually prescribe medication designed to fight bacteria for something they knew was a virus.

We didn’t have a lot of money, so most of what we ate was highly processed. And on occasion, slightly mysterious (“what part of the chicken is this?”). My stomach was constantly upset, and so was my brother’s. We lived on Pepto and Immodium for years. As I got older, I just kept having more and more problems. I collapsed at work and found out I was hypoglycemic. Before they got me to the hospital, I had a Hershey bar and half of a can of soda and my blood sugar was 60. I have no idea what it was when I hit the ground.

I started to have incredible, body-wide pain. I would be in so much pain, I would sweat constantly, like I had a fever. I couldn’t get out of bed by myself. I would wake up an hour early, have my boyfriend help me out of bed, then take a steaming hot shower and stretch just to get to work every day.  I took an insane amount of pain relievers every day. I went to my doctor and she took blood tests that showed I was insanely inflamed all over, but she had no solution for me.

After endless tests, doctors offices and pills, they told me I had fibromyalgia and I had to change my life. I couldn’t work my job anymore, I couldn’t exercise like I used to and I would be this way for the rest of my life. I’ve tried endless supplements, vitamins, diets, none of it works. Now I’m fat. So I do crazy amounts of research on my “condition” to try to make myself better, and mostly, to finally lose some weight.

I’m finding out a LOT about the food we eat. And everything I’ve been eating my whole life. I’m starting to think that by the time I’m like 90 they will say everything that’s wrong with me is from the food. There’s crazy amounts of sugar in everything we eat, and that contributes to hypoglycemia. I know that sounds like it doesn’t make sense, but if I eat sugar, my body kicks into high gear, uses all the sugar, then I crash and have to eat again. Fat.

Then there’s GMO’s. Genetically modified foods contain fake hormones, may be cross bred with other species (like how they put flounder DNA into tomatoes to be more frost resistant – look it up) or be grown from cloned cells (plants). These foods may effect your hormone levels, and I’m sorry, maybe there’s not a lot of research on this, but I can’t imagine that constantly ingesting modified DNA would have NO link to cancer, but that’s me. I haven’t researched that, it’s just my opinion.

Then there’s bleached flour. I have worked to cut bleached flour out of my diet. It makes a BIG difference. I’m not sure if I’m gluten sensitive, but lots of chemicals are used to bleach flour, and there’s no way to guarantee that all of those harmful chemicals are being washed out of the flour before it is eaten. It’s a highly absorbent product.

Today I was reading about MSG. I saw it on the label of something I was eating, so I read up on it. It seems odd that it’s hard to find a solid, long-term study on this product. The FDA swears up and down that it’s fine, but I trust the FDA every bit as much as I trust a rabid tiger. I don’t feel they have my best interest at heart. MSG has links to lots of the health problems I have, and to be honest, I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to find out it was part of the problem.

It’s super frustrating to find that other countries have banned all of these items, and that in itself should be a red flag to the people. To me personally the biggest issue is, I don’t know how to cut these out of my diet. I live in a house with 5 people, and the cost of buying organic, non-processed food is so high, there’s no way we could afford it. Our grocery bill would at least double, and we are tight on money as it is. I can reduce these things, I can attempt to avoid them, but I can guarantee that I will eat them all almost every day. So if these are the things contributing to my problems (and it looks like they are) then I can’t wait to get worse. I would like to personally thank the FDA for doing their part to protect me from harmful products, and maybe now that I’m obese, I can get on one of their approved medications for that, like Fen-phen. Oh, wait…

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

