Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Epic Week Fail

5 Comments

pic courtesy heyarnold.wikia.com

This week has been packed tight. I’ve been getting a lot done, but it’s been crazy. I’ve worked late every day this week, so I’ve gotten home late. It’s funny that the weeks my husband is away, it’s always time that I think will be “quiet time” and then I get there and it’s not quiet at all.

Monday and Tuesday, I worked until about 6, got home and ate dinner by 8, did some volunteer stuff and got to bed by 11:30. Gross. I didn’t want to wake up. I kept saying all week that I was going to come in to work early, then my alarm would go off and I would either sleep through it or hit the snooze button like 50 times. So that never happened. Yesterday I only worked until 4 so I could rush to pick up the middle child and take her to cheer practice, run around some more, then give her a ride back to her mom’s from cheer practice. Still ate dinner around 8.

I was working all the extra hours because a few extra projects came through this week that I had to be on top of, and I had planned to have tomorrow off. I’m having a date day with my hubby. Things have been busy and we haven’t had a lot of time together, so I was really looking forward to some quality time alone with him. We’ve spent all of our time either fixing up our bedroom (which is totally out of control and still not done) or doing things with kids (like driving, driving, going to the store and driving). I really needed a date with him.

Today I came in to work and it was the final day. I had worked all of that overtime and really pulled off some slightly miraculous things in order to be on schedule. All I had to do was print out all the documents for the week, so I needed to print several hundred copies. I sat down, pulled up all the documents on my computer, started to print and then the printer broke. I don’t mean it jammed, I mean the fuser web ran out (if you know anything about MFP machines, you know that they have to come in and fix that and it just sucks). So I can’t print anything, and I don’t think they will be here today to fix it.

I could just cry people. I’m sleep deprived, sore and tired. I worked so hard all week to get ahead, and now I think I have to come in on my day off. The day I wanted to just be all about my hubby. I feel like someone punched me in the spleen. I don’t know when I’m going to have another whole day of hooky just to cling to my husband (I may come off as stubborn and independent, but I’m actually very needy).

So now my entire weekend schedule depends upon when the printer repair guy will be here. I guess if nothing else, I got some overtime this week, and the money sure doesn’t hurt right now. *sigh*
Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

5 thoughts on “Epic Week Fail

  1. Awwwww I hate weeks like that!! I’m sorry… Try to breathe… Sometimes it helps if I rub my earlobes and say “wooooo saaaahhh” (if anything it makes me giggle). Try to hang in there.. I know it’s rough and it’s so frustrating! But remember.. This too shall pass

    Like

  2. LOL! I’m having a week that sounds like most of yours! I like to yell “serenity now!” But I’m also a woo-saah fan.

    Like

  3. Lol!!! LOL!! For some odd reason, it works!!! πŸ™‚ I’m TOTALLY going to try screaming “serenity now” next time I need it!!!

    Like

  4. Be sure to be in close proximity to Miss G. I have to hear about her reaciton. πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Lol!!! LOL!!! I promise I will!!!!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

