Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

I’m Just Excited To Be Here

Leave a comment

image
Hooray! I’m so glad that Monday and Tuesday were such complete clones of each other, I actually got confused enough to have to figure out what day I was trapped in today. Both were just chock full of inanity, and kept paces that made my head spin. Oh, and let’s not forget the bossy people totally blowing a simple Sunday breakfast into smithereens. It’s horrible. It’s like watching someone trying to dig a grave for their cat in their backyard with a bulldozer. Gotta love misplaced intentions.
So after the crazy time, and the super odd guy dripping some mysterious fluid from his moustache on to my desk (horrifying, I still don’t know what it was, but he dripped like 5 times on my stuff) I run (literally) out of the building.
Off to pick up kids and make dinner. In the process of making dinner, the youngest dances and prances around the tiny room, seemingly making it a point to always be where I am trying to go. She is talking to me, along with the oldest, then she does that thing that every parent on the planet adores; she looks at the ingredients of what I’m making, something she’s loved a million times before, and scrunches up her face and says “oh, that? I don’t like that.” I look at her like she must have lost her mind to stand in my kitchen and say that, and reply “that’s nice. Get out of my kitchen.”
You know, when you’ve had a discussion about something a million times before…
But oddly enough, even though I tried to tell her, when it came out of the oven she gasped “oh! It’s that! I love that!”
This is dinner almost every night all school year long. I can’t wait. On the plus side, my husband is driving them to school this year, so I have some extra time to clean in the morning. Which might sound unpleasant, but I seriously had no time and no idea how I was going to get it all done.
Which is also nice because I have an interview on Friday, so if I get the job (my second) I will definitely need the time.
Every now and then, things work themselves out before you even realize that’s what has happened.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

