Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

My Birthday Gift; The Gift of Awkwardness

3 Comments

tumblr_lvtd6iD4TN1qc4uvwo1_500[1]

True, except for the fact that you are NOT allowed to forget 9/11. But if that never happened… pic via chibird.com

It’s Sunday. And worse than that, it’s Sunday night. The time of the week when you think “I have to wake up early and go to work tomorrow”. That’s always pleasant. Dwelling on the alarm clock and the chaos to follow. Oh boy. I like to at least do things like think of cute things to wear, or something good I can make for breakfast.

Honestly, my Sundays are usually so busy, I don’t have time to ponder the alarm clock until I’m doing my pre-game prep of “I need to get out of bed by this time or I will be late”. I seriously have to coach myself or I will not get up. It’s part of my “anti-morning person” routine. Mornings are rough.

This Sunday was no exception to my busy Sunday tendencies. We did our usual church, and found out some people really like us (weird, we’re so antisocial). Then we split. My husband took the middle child to her game for cheerleading, and I went to my dad’s with the other 2 for a birthday party (partly my own party). It wasn’t too bad since it wasn’t just my birthday, so it takes away from that whole, creepy “everyone is watching you” element that I just adore about birthdays. The food was all fantastical and I didn’t have to make it (even more fantastical) and then the cake tasted like a giant ho-ho. Which was simultaneously awesome and sickening (soooo much sugar!), but you can bet I ate my huge piece.

I had to leave in a hurry to make it to the grocery store, since we were pretty much out of food. But it didn’t cost too much and was over with pretty quick. So all in all, not a bad day. Funniest part, my sister lit the candles on the cake, and as she did, my stepmom runs outside to make a phone call. I wish I would have recorded the fall off of the birthday singers. Weakest. Singing. Ever. Didn’t even finish the song (and it’s like 3 lines).

But I didn’t care. It was much less awkward for me because it was so much more awkward for everyone else. Caring is sharing!

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

3 thoughts on “My Birthday Gift; The Gift of Awkwardness

  1. Hope you have a good week ahead, and happy birthday!

    Like

  2. Thank you very much! I am sure I will have a good week, and I hope you do too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy happy birthday friend!!!! 😉 have a fabulous day!!!!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

