Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Welcome to the Vortex!

3 Comments

Welcome!!

My week has melted into what seems like one really long day. We haven’t had the kids, but I’ve still been on part time mommy duty. I’m on call, and they aren’t my own children. Not sure how this happened. And I’ve discovered that when something happens now, good or bad, they call me and not my husband. I’m not sure what’s happening, I’ve been sucked into some sort of parental vortex. I’ve been driving the middle child to cheerleading this week, well, except for the mess up on Monday (totally not my fault).

At work, things couldn’t possibly be more insane. A newsletter, a letter to the entire congregation (which is supposed to go out Monday, and I still don’t have it) a funeral and then the normal insanity. Oh, and I’ve been a complete idiot and volunteered to design a few things for a benefit breakfast. Terrible idea. Couldn’t possibly be a bigger mess.

I have a nice office, and there’s a large picture window. From time to time a bird makes a valiant attempt to join me in my workspace, but this week it has been insane. There is some sort of Kamikaze bird raid that has been ordered. There are about 3-4 birds smacking my window every day. I decided to decorate it to help create the idea that there is a barrier there, but to no avail. I suppose I’m just irresistible.

It seems like everything is just converging on this one week. I’m waiting to hear back from an interview, work is piling up, I have some very important fundraiser things pending, my mommy status has just been increased, and the birds just won’t let up.

You know what, I have been sucked into some weird vortex. I am clearly in the Twilight Zone.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the Vortex!

  1. Hang in there!! You got this!!!

    Like

  2. You know what Penelope? You’re pretty fantastic. Thank you! And I just talked to the people I interviewed with and they want me to start training right away!

    Like

  3. YAY!!! That’s FANTASTIC!!! Congratulations!! I’m excited for you!! And thank you for saying I’m fantastic 😉

    Liked by 1 person

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

