Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

My Brain Said It Was Friday Yesterday. And Stuck.

5 Comments

Publication1

Tomorrow is Friday. There are lots of good things about Friday. Not only is it the last day of the week, but also, I’m alone for most of the day at work.

My boss is a pastor, and that pastor has ADD. He will be the first to admit it. So today, he tried to take me along on his short-term attention challenge. I didn’t last long. In the middle of trying to finish one thing he would start three more and try to talk about all of them to me. My brains shut off at some point. The lights just went out in my head and it all just stopped.

So tomorrow will be nice and quiet, and I will actually get some work done instead of being on a challenged attention span roller coaster with all kinds of stops and interruptions. Ugh.

I do get to have a date with the husband, which will be really nice. We haven’t gone on a date since we went to the zoo, and I think that was August. And I have some things to look forward to on Saturday. More time with the hubby, and a little time just for me. I can’t tell you how long I’ve waited for that. I realize sometimes that playing mom makes you a little crazy.

It’s not that the kids are bad, it’s not that I don’t like spending time with them. It’s just you don’t realize that you’ve spent all of your time an energy on those little people until you don’t have any for you. Or your husband. There will be times where we see each other every day all week, and I will miss him just because we don’t spend any time alone.

But I got to spend some time with a friend last night, I get some overdue quality time with the hubby this weekend and more time with another friend on Tuesday. Having some nice, simple things to look forward to is so therapeutic.

I’m pretty amped.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

5 thoughts on “My Brain Said It Was Friday Yesterday. And Stuck.

  1. Yay for your date night!! That is going to be so much fun!!

    Like

  2. Yeah, I am so excited! Nothing like some quality hubby time!

    Like

  3. I completely agree. And we are going to take a nice long drive to look at the fall colors. Super fantasticalness!

    Like

  4. Oh YAY!!! That’s such a great thing to do!! Very relaxing and super sweet!! Love this!!

    Liked by 1 person

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

