Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

It Must (not) Be My Lucky Day!

5 Comments

image

Courtesy imgion.com

Today was slightly less cranky than yesterday. I mean everyone else was slightly less cranky.  I think I’m about the same as yesterday. Things seemed more pleasant at work.
I’m trying my hand at working my second job on Tuesdays. I know I should keep an open mind because we need the money, but it already sucks. It was a mad dash to get here to hang or with someone who wants to be crystal clear that I’m not wanted here. Because Tuesdays just aren’t awesome enough on their own. I had to add an extra dose of suck.
I’m not amped about this.
The kids all decided to get into a classic show, they watched the twilight zone. I had told the oldest about it, and since we don’t have cable, she had plenty of time to search for it on Netflix. The conversation got into how if everyone was ugly, no one would be ugly, so they watched “the eye of the beholder” with the pig faced people. Middle child was a little freaked out. The youngest was perplexed by the term twilight zone. She seemed to think it was an actual place.
So we discussed those mysteries and then I dashed off to work. One little thing about dinner bothered me a bit. They always used to call seats at the table, according to who sat next to me and my husband. It’s been a while since anyone called a seat next to me.
I guess when you’re making a sacrifice for your family (or many of them) it makes the small things stand out more.
Oh well. All I can do now is try to survive the next 24 hours with no sleep and 2 jobs. Wish me luck!

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

5 thoughts on “It Must (not) Be My Lucky Day!

  1. My oldest is still not clear on the concept of the “twilight zone,” either. I wish I could remember when I grasped the idea … but I’m fairly certain I was not newly five!

    Like

  2. I told her twilight is the stars, like space, and then you’re in the zone, like “out there man”. We always joke she’s an alien, so she understood that part!

    Like

  3. Sending you good vibes!! Hang in there!! You are doing an amazing job!!

    Like

  4. Awww! Best cheerleader ever! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are very welcome!!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

