Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Seems Like a 24 Hour Facepalm

3 Comments

image

Courtesy imarcade.com

I’ve think I may have hurt myself. I mean, I know I’m in pain, I’m just not sure of the source. It was kind of a seriously nutty day, and I do remember saying something like “I think that might hurt later” while running around today.
I had to lift heavy things, drag a dolly up a flight of stairs and run (sometimes literally) all over the place.
Who would have guessed I work in a church.
By the time I got home, I felt like I was being stabbed in the lower back. So I just took every herbal pain remedy (legal in all states and federally) that I have, and I hope something works. It has to. I have to work tomorrow.
I had inadvertently given myself a chemical burn around my eyes by overdosing on retinol ( who knew?). I was trying to reduce some of the redness, puffiness and lizard-leather look on my face when I figured I should turn on my paraffin wax bath. I was pretty excited. I’ve got a hangnail on almost every finger.
It seemed like it took forever to warm up, so I took a shower. When I got out, it seemed weird that there wasn’t much wax in there. It was because it was all seeping through the machine. There was a paraffin puddle on my counter.
I was disgusted. I waited like 4 months to turn on a busted machine. Junk.
At least it was only like $10, which I realize is part of the issue here.
I got my first check today from my second job. It wasn’t huge, but not bad for spending the night at a cranky, argumentative elderly person’s house. I used to do that for my grandma for free. I’ll take it!
At least there’s one thing that I think will turn out. We might be back on our feet by February. That’s much faster than I had hoped.
But Friday is like the new Tuesday. Lame and frustrating.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

3 thoughts on “Seems Like a 24 Hour Facepalm

  1. Keep going!! At least you can see the light at the end of the tunnel!! And that’s good!!!

    Like

  2. Yes, that is true. And next week will be a little easier since we are childless for the week. I know it’s all not permanent, it just gets gross sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It does!!! Kids can be messy in every sense of the word. It’s hard enough to work 2 jobs but then to take care of kids!! It’s so hard to juggle
    That!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

