Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Beef and a Nap; A Perfect Sunday

Leave a comment

image

Courtesy foodnculture.com

Today is a day of rest. I only half decided that, my husband decided the other half. I’m looking a little like I’ve been put through The Mangler (see Stephen King short stories), and feeling a bit that way, too. Work has been, well, complicated.
But I don’t want to talk about that, except to say I’ve only got one more rough weekend and that’s it. Thank God.
Today I came home in the morning and crawled into bed, freezing cold. I had told my husband that I had been STARVING and very much needed a burger. I’ve been eating lots of low fat sandwiches, I needed some real food.
He took me out for a wonderful lunch date. We haven’t had a date for a long time, and this was very nice. But he said I looked like I was going to fall asleep in my burger, so I enjoyed the social time while I could, then we went to Walgreen’s so I could stock up on some things I’ve been out of for a long time.
A burger and a trip to Walgreen’s. It was a really great day. I may not be a cheap date, but easy to please for sure.
He tried to be nice and go to the store for me, but that required thinking, and I can’t hang with that today. I will just go tomorrow.
I haven’t fully decided, but pretty close, that I’m not as low maintenance as I would like to be. I was in my 20s, but I like to have nice things now. I don’t mean I need designer jeans, but I like to be able to go out with my husband regularly. I like to be able to get my hair cut every few months, and I like to buy new clothes a few times a year.
And I like for us as a family to go do something cool a few times a year, like go to Chicago, or spend a weekend at a water park in the middle of winter when we start losing our minds.
All things that I see normal, middle class people do all the time.
So I’m nervous about it, but I may be needing a career change soon.
I will worry about that tomorrow. Today I’m resting and happy with the wonderful date I had with my husband. I sure hope there’s more to come!

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

