Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Social Justice and Hot Old Ladies. What!!

2 Comments

image

Courtesy giphy.com

Hanging out with the kids again today
Lots of interesting things happen when you hang out with kids.
There’s a mild panic over the probability of a pregnant fish in the tank. The youngest child wants to go sleep over at a girl’s house, tonight. No tomorrow night, wait maybe tonight. She’s the popular girl in school, so the middle child figures it’s a good networking move for when the youngest hits middle school. Not kidding, she’s encouraging her little sister to get set up with the up and comers in school.
The middle child keeps randomly saying “wah happahn?” and irritating everyone in the house. Till the youngest started imitating her.
I had a moment ( I have a lot of them) sitting with them where i looked at the contrast between who they are, and who I was at that age.
I was angry, introverted, troubled, and in trouble. My life was very different, and I turned out very different. I sit with them and joke and talk with them. They are outgoing and upbeat. They have a very strong sense of right and wrong and are well on their way to being secure with who they know they are.
The other day, I picked them up from school, and the middle child said “some dumb kid was making fun of people for shopping at Goodwill. I got so mad and I yelled at him. What if they can’t afford to shop anywhere else and it’s not their fault!?”
I was pretty proud. She’s developing quite the sense of civil justice, she’s just not sure what to do with it yet. I can’t wait to see what she decides.
There’s been a lot of little things that have made me laugh this week, like the homebound elderly woman asking our “Santa to a senior” program for some “sexy pj’s”. Or the youngest child’s face when I asked her if she was getting her period (so classic).
But I like the moments when I get a glimpse into the future and see 3 girls who turn out just great.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

2 thoughts on “Social Justice and Hot Old Ladies. What!!

  1. First, I am hypnotized by that GIF!

    Second … I love middle child’s take on Goodwill. I remember a friend keeping a distance from me at school because I “couldn’t buy name brands.” It boggled my mind then and continues to boggle it now.

    Like

  2. You know, a year ago I would never have imagined her saying that. She’s interested in the homeless and the needy now, it’s just astounding. Last year I think she would have laughed with that kid. Funny how they just grow up in front of you! But I grew up in second hand, so I’m teaching them that it’s not bad.

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

