Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Whole Weekend Like Kirby (Fat Kid for LIFE!)

Leave a comment

courtesy giphy.com   Yeah, my weekend was like this. Don't judge, so was yours.

courtesy giphy.com Yeah, my weekend was like this. Don’t judge, so was yours.

This weekend was a holiday weekend, and that means time with family, eating till you puke, and all other facets of the American dream. I had a bit of a slap in the face over the weekend. But I’m not going to talk about that. I don’t want to give that one more minute of my time if I can help it.

We had fun with the kids this weekend. Everyone seemed loosened up, and I think having an entire day to do nothing really helped. My husband and I got up on Friday and bought a snowblower, and that was IT! Nothing else! No being trampled, no long lines, no getting up at the buttcrack of dawn… none of it. I went back home and I slept. Like all day. I decided I didn’t want to get out of bed. I ended up having to go to the store for something, but 2 of the kids went with me, and it ended up being funny (sleeping all day shuts your brain off).

Saturday was pretty great. We went downtown and went into the little shops, got some cute things, walked around and laughed a lot. It was a really good day. We ate some Kewpee’s (if you don’t know, you should get acquainted) had some ice cream, then headed home. I mean, what else can you really ask for?

At home the middle child was in the kitchen baking (it’s a gift of hers) and the other two were ducking in and out, trying to irritate her. I warned them they better stay out, she would get mad if they didn’t. The youngest said “yeah, one time she got mad at us and chased us with a knife”. I wasn’t sure if that was true or an exaggeration, I just said “what?” The middle child said “that was a long time ago, you guys are living in the past!” I couldn’t help but laugh.

Overall, a good weekend with the kids. Then yesterday, an extra Thanksgiving at my dad’s house. It was nice, a few people were missing and that was bummer. But I was still stuffed when I woke up this morning. Ugh.

So lots of good laughs, a chance to see some people I don’t get to see a lot (which I’m looking to change, I miss those people) and lots of food I never should have eaten. I’m seriously having a food hangover. So gross. But all in all, it was a good weekend. With or without Thanksgiving.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

