Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Whatever Happens Next Has To Suck Less

5 Comments

So yesterday I did it. I put in for my last day at the job that may occasionally drive me nuts, but I really didn’t want to quit. Everyone I tell looks personally hurt by it, like I’ve told them there’s no Santa, or I broke their mom’s foot on purpose. It’s been seriously unpleasant, and I don’t want to ever have to do this again.
I’ve had to quit jobs before, but after crazy things, like I’ve moved and now my commute is over 50 miles one way. Or we were bought out by a conglomerate and the company is imploding. Or the economy is destroying the company and half of my department is getting fired, and I should start thinking about that 50 mile commute to our sister location.
I normally get out when it is blaringly obvious. So to jump ship when things are just a little nutty makes my entire being scream in revolt. It’s so hard, it’s like ending a relationship or moving away from a family member. It’s disgusting. I hate it. I was so wrecked yesterday, having only told 2 people and their reactions, like I told them I had cancer, I couldn’t talk anymore about it and I came home and slept for like 12 hours. I woke up in the middle and cried a bit. This is awful.
My husband asked if I think this is the right thing to do, and I don’t know. I have no idea. I suppose it would be much easier if I were being offered an insane amount of money to do something awesome, but I’m not.
This sucks. I had some slightly apocalyptic dreams last night, I’m sure it was from the stress.
And on top of all this joy, I got drama drama coming to my house for Christmas.
Yesss!
I know this is just a job and I’m doing what I have to do for my family. I know that it will just be a few hours that I have to deal with this holiday ratchet mess and then I can get on with my life. But somehow, that doesn’t make it suck less.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

5 thoughts on “Whatever Happens Next Has To Suck Less

  1. Oh Jessie!! I’m so sorry to hear you are going through this tough time. The holidays are a very difficult time, even under the best of circumstances. I don’t have any phenomenal words of wisdom or anything, but know that you are doing the absolute best you can and you are right where you are supposed to be. Breathe.. And keep blogging 😉

    Like

  2. Thank you!! I’m just trying to hang in there and survive until Thursday night. That’s my goal. It’s gross, but i know I’ll live! I can’t tell you how excited i am for new year’s this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am too!! I have a good feeling about 2015 and there’s nothinf wrong with just wanting to survive!! You will!! Hang in there! I’m here for you!

    Like

  4. 2014 was bunk from the start! Even if it’s scary, i will be starting a new job making more money in 2015, so I’m automatically off to a better start this year. I’ve taken a few hits over the past few months, and it wears on you after a while. Your comments always make me smile! Thank you for being there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are very welcome!!! IM SO glad to hear that!!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

