Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

New Year, New Pants. You Can’t Stop Me!

1 Comment

dancing animated GIF

courtesy giphy.com You can’t stop me! I got new pants!

Yay 2015! I can’t tell you how thankful I am to have a concrete end to all of the garbage from last year! It was a MESS!! We had financial problems, we were sick more times in this past year than the previous 6 years combined, and ran into all kinds of issues any time we had to plan anything. Planning camping trips was insane, one dog died and the other one tried to eat a child. The only person in the house who had a birthday was the youngest child. Actually, that’s probably a good thing, she normally gets the shaft, since she’s smack dab in the middle of holiday madness.

I couldn’t wait for 2014 to end! And it tried to take me out! I got crazy sick this week, and went to bed before midnight. I didn’t care to see the last few minutes of the year go out. I was at home anyway.

We went on a little trip with the kids over the weekend. We went to Indiana to see my husband’s grandma, or actually his granny. She’s a lot of fun, but I had just been through a wringer-washer of a holiday, then drove almost 4 hours, so I was beat. We did have a really nice lunch on the way down, and we got to go to the mall with the kids. And do you know what? The most exciting thing of the whole year happened to me, I got new pants!  I mean like brand new, not from Goodwill! I was so excited, I just would randomly say “I got new pants” for the rest of the weekend, and on the ride home. The kids got to play in the pool, we got an awesome room for free (husband’s reward points) and spent plenty of time with granny, hearing some AWESOME stories. Granny has pulled a gun on more than one person. Not unnecessarily, like things were getting out of hand and granny wasn’t going to take any crap. I could listen to her talk for hours. But I started to feel like junk on the way home, then Monday I thought I had a cold. Then Tuesday I thought I was going to die. But I’m on medicine, so I’m getting better now!

But it was a pretty fantastic trip, and I got new pants! It’s a new year, and pretty soon I start my new job, which I’m still kind of freaked out about, but I suppose this year, all things are new.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

One thought on “New Year, New Pants. You Can’t Stop Me!

  1. New year! New pants, new job! OMG that’s awesome!! Love it! Can’t wait to hear about all of your new adventures !!

    Liked by 1 person

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

