Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Made Enough Progress To Take A Break. For 20 Minutes.

5 Comments

image

This has been a super productive week, and I hope this is a sign off hour the rest of my year will be. I’ve painted my nails for the first time in over a year, I’ve been doing my hair and have been on some dates with my husband. I even signed up for yoga classes! I feel like a real grown up! I have a life and things to do!
That’s really important because I’m about to lose some of my favorite things, since I won’t be working at the church anymore. The were a couple of things I did there I had to step down from, and that was depressing. Which is good, because quitting a job you like is never depressing enough. Yay.
The kids had a day off of school today, and they were actually pretty mellow when I got home. Not like they sat in the living room and tried to strangle each other all day or anything. In still chalking that up to that whole “no cable” thing. The oldest had finally decided to dye her hair red after talking about it for like 3 years. She was freaked out, but trusted my judgment ( I’ve been dying my hair red for like 15 years) and today when I came home she was very excited to show me how it worked out. She looks very cute, but I’m biased.
When we were at the store buying the dye yesterday, I was spending my “allowance” on stuff for my hair and nails. I saw something I wanted, but it was over my budget, so the middle child and I pretended to cry and guy each other in the middle of the aisle for a minute, then walked away like nothing happened. The oldest says that’s why the neighbors thing we’re weird.
It’s possible.
But I feel a lot better. I feel like a whole person. Sometimes, I just go sit in my room for a few minutes. Maybe I read a little, maybe I just wash my face and put on some pj’s, maybe I do my nails. But there is time in the day that I set aside for me, and I hadn’t done that for a while. I gave all my time to the kids.
They need me, and I give them lots of time, but I just slow myself down for a minute and think of what I want to do for like 30 minutes. That’s it, it doesn’t take much. And, since I have the yoga class to look forward to, that’s more stuff for “me”.
I always thought this was being selfish, but after having an entire year of thinking that spending my time like this is wrong, I can finally see that spending just a little time like this is maintenance. And when you take care if something, you just appreciate it that much more.
I should know that because if how much I love my people. I forgot that I’m one of my people too.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

5 thoughts on “Made Enough Progress To Take A Break. For 20 Minutes.

  1. This is so beautiful!! I’m so happy to read this!! Glad you are carving out a little “me”
    Time in this!!! You DESERVE it and need it and you sound sooo happy!! 👍😁😂 excellent!!

    Like

  2. Thank you! I’m very excited for the new year, and i want to make this work! I am so hopeful, and want this year to be different. So far, it seems like it is.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It IS going to be different!!! Youve got this!!! I love how positive and hopeful you are feeling!! Love love love this!!

    Like

  4. Thank you! I’ve said it before, but it’s still true, you are so great!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Awwwwww Jessie!! You are gonna make me cry! Thank you!!! 😊 im not
    But i thank you for saying that!

    Like

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

