Stepmemo

A note to stepmoms everywhere

Single Mom Time – Nailed It! (Sort Of)

Leave a comment

image

Courtesy parenting.com

I’m playing single mom for a few days this week. It’s just until Monday, while my husband is out of town. But a single mom gig is always a little much because, well, I’m not really a mom.
I take care of these people, and I’ve lived with them for years, but they are not my own. Although, I do love them that way, but somehow things seem exponentially more complicated when you are alone. Parenting math never makes sense.
I like to try to keep busy when I have the kids, because if we all sit in the house they will start to fight, and I will start to lose my mind. So last night we went to a craft store. The youngest had a gift card to Hobby Lobby, and she wanted to spend it, and everyone wanted to go.
We all walk in, and the youngest looks around, staring wide-eyed at everything. I ask “what do you want to look at?” She responds simply “craft stuff” and looks to me to show her the way. I lean in and say “you’ll have to be more specific, we are in a craft store“. She looks at me like I’m an idiot and says “you know, the stuff you make crafts out of”. Duh, of course. The other two are laughing to themselves at this point. The middle child says ” I know what she wants ” then takes her hand and leads her away. I decided to look around close to the registers so I would see them when they were done, and I wouldn’t have to hunt for anyone. The oldest stayed with me.
After a while, the middle child appeared and announced she’s lost the youngest. Oldest child says “you had one job!!”.
We found the youngest, went to another store and the rest of the night was uneventful.
This morning, I woke up, jumped out of bed and was sure I was 20 minutes late. I must have turned off the alarm in my sleep! Then I thought ” I better check the time “. It was 2:20. No, I was very early. I facepalmed and went back to bed.
Today is day 2 of single mommyness. It will be interesting.

Author: Jessie Henry

Reinventing my life and enjoying my adventure. Living life as full as I like with no apologies, loving all of it.

You can leave a comment, or just let me know how your day is. That's cool too.

